

## Government of Gouvernement des Northwest Territories Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Mark Cliffe-Phillips
Executive Director
Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board
200 SCOTIA CENTRE 5102-50TH AVENUE
PO BOX 938
YELLOWKNIFE NT X1A 2N7

October 12, 2023

Dear Mr. Cliffe-Phillips:

## <u>Submission of the Developer's Assessment Report for the Mackenzie Valley Highway Project (EA1213-02)</u>

On behalf of the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT), the Department of Infrastructure is pleased to submit the Developer's Assessment Report (DAR) for the Mackenzie Valley Highway (MVH) Project. The document has been prepared in response to the revised Terms of Reference (ToR) issued in 2015 by the Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board (Review Board).

The DAR includes a ToR concordance table and is organized into five volumes with associated appendices. The submission also includes a non-technical summary in English. The GNWT will provide the Review Board with translations of the non-technical summary in French, South Slavey, and North Slavey languages in the near future.

In the coming weeks, the GNWT will submit the following documents to the Review Board:

- A document that summarizes how GNWT departments participated in the development of the DAR.
- A comment table outlining how input received from GNWT departments was incorporated into the DAR.
- A Caribou Movement Analysis Study. This document will be submitted in late fall of 2023.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me at (867) 767-9082 ext. 31035, or by email at <a href="mailto:Seth\_Bohnet@gov.nt.ca">Seth\_Bohnet@gov.nt.ca</a>.

Alternatively, you can reach out to Patricia Coyne, Manager MVH Environmental Affairs at (867) 767-9082 ext. 31033, or by email at <a href="mailto:Patricia Coyne@gov.nt.ca">Patricia Coyne@gov.nt.ca</a>.

Sincerely,

Seth Bohnet

Director, Strategic Infrastructure

Infrastructure

c. Distribution List

## **Distribution List:**

JoAnne Deneron Chairperson Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board

Diane Archie Minister Infrastructure

Shane Thompson Minister Environment and Climate Change

Kathy Racher Executive Director Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board

Paul Dixon Executive Director Sahtu Land and Water Board

Erin Kelly Deputy Minister Environment and Climate Change

Steve Loutitt Deputy Minister Infrastructure

Jayleen Robertson Assistant Deputy Minister Environment and Climate Change

Robert Jenkins Assistant Deputy Minister Infrastructure

Lorraine Seale Director Environment and Climate Change